Top Menu

Nominations sought for best in palliative care

The aged care sector is being encouraged to nominate staff, volunteers and organisations that set the bar in end-of-life care for Palliative Care Australia’s inaugural national awards.

The individual, team and organisational awards aim to recognise emerging talent, team work and innovation in practice and research across the palliative care sector.

Winners will receive prize money from $2,000 to $4,000 to spend on professional development.

Liz Callaghan

Liz Callaghan

Palliative Care Australia CEO Liz Callaghan said people working in palliative care were often quiet achievers who just got on with their work and were unrecognised.

“This is important, valuable work; we want our community to celebrate their success and accept our thanks for it,” Ms Callaghan told Australian Ageing Agenda.

She said PCA welcomed nominations from all involved in the palliative care sector, including volunteers, and across the broad array of settings where it was delivered, such as the home, hospice or hospital.

“For many senior Australians home is their residential aged care facility [while] for others they remain in their family home and often because of the work of community carers,” Ms Callaghan said.

The awards also aim to foster and nurture innovation in palliative care. “It is my experience that awards can often drive innovation in the sector as well, because people hear about different ways of addressing common issues, and apply those lessons to their own settings,” Ms Callaghan said.

Awards and criteria

Among the four awards on offer is an emerging leader and an emerging researcher award, which each recognise an individual who has been working or studying in palliative care for less than five years and has made a significant contribution to the sector.

There is also an outstanding teamwork award for a group of two or more and finally an innovation prize to recognise an organisation that has initiated an innovative and sustainable practice, project or service that enhances the delivery of palliative care, which has been in place for one to five years.

“We are excited to see contributions from individuals who demonstrate where leadership has made a real difference to the experience of patients, families and colleagues or where research has added to the debate and information about care. Organisational awards will go to teams who, working together, using communication and respecting diversity made a difference to patients,” Ms Callaghan said.

“Attributes that make a project, service or practice innovative are ones that put the person, resident or patient at the centre of care, exhibit multidisciplinary care models at their best and bring people together with the clear focus on their patients and their families,” she said.

Winners in the individual categories will receive $2,000 towards professional development and free registration to the 2017 Australian Palliative Care Conference while $4,000 will be awarded in the team and organisational categories.

Nominations close Friday 31 July 2015. Visit the PCA website for details 


No comments yet.

Leave a Reply