Agency appoints five new board members

Among the new appointees are two former senior politicians and two well respected aged care executives.

Two former senior politicians and some of Australia’s best recognised aged care leaders have been appointed to the board of the Aged Care Standards and Accreditation Agency.

The new appointees are former NSW Deputy Premier, Dr Andrew Refshauge, former ACT Chief Minister, Kate Carnell, Aboriginal health leader, Dr Sally Goold and well-known aged care executives, Dr Mike Rungie (ACH Group) and Dr June Heinrich (Baptist Community Services).

“[They] bring a wealth of leadership, clinical and organisational experience and will complement the skills of the existing board members,” said the Minister for Ageing, Justine Elliot.

“All five new appointments have a proud commitment to social justice.”

The five new board members will help lead the highly anticipated review of the ten-year-old accreditation standards for residential aged care providers.

Mrs Elliot acknowledged that the staff members in aged care homes are dedicated and hard working but added that it is crucial to have strong checks and balances in place.

“It is important that we have the right framework in place to ensure nursing home operators are meeting their legal obligations to provide proper care for nursing home residents.”

The government has also re-appointed the agency’s chairman, James Harrowell, and CEO, Mark Brandon.

Other board members who remain unchanged include Dr Michael Bollen, Mr David Deans, Mr Richard Gray, Mr Jon Gregerson, Professor Joseph Ibrahim, Ms Sue Macri, Professor Rhonda Nay and Mr Douglas Strain.

Tags: heinrich,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *