Truly national awards for the first time

Winners from all six states will compete for the ACSA national awards this year.

The Aged and Community Services Australia (ACSA) national awards for excellence will be contested by the corresponding winners from all six states for the first time ever.

The ACSA federation decided to create an integrated awards program last year but not all the states were able to participate in the 2009 awards program.

The association’s CEO, Greg Mundy said this year’s achievement was a significant milestone for the industry.

“It’s the first time we have had a truly national comp,” he said. “And that is a good thing for the industry.”

The 2010 awards will be judged by a high profile panel which will include former High Court judge and ACSA patron, Michael Kirby.

“We always put a lot of work into putting into getting top quality judges for our awards,” Mr Mundy said.

“It gives them some added luster and helps give recognition to the individuals and the organisations involved.

“That’s what the awards are about – they’re a means of paying tribute to the selfless people and organisations who strive every day to ensure older Australians enjoy quality care and support.”

The awards will be presented at ACSA’s annual conference being held this year in Hobart from 19-22 September. 

The conference theme, Explore the Possibilities, is aimed at inspiring delegates to explore new directions for aged care.

Mr Mundy said ACSA is looking to grow its awards program and for the second time, the 2010 awards will be presented at a dedicated dinner.

The finalists for the 2010 ACSA national awards for excellence are listed below:

Employee Award
Queensland: Alice Satterthwaite, Churches of Christ Care
NSW & ACT: Maida Chand, UnitingCare Ageing
Victoria: Mary Reid, Warramunda Village
Tasmania: Carol Pamplin, Queen Victoria Home
SA & NT: Carol Elliott, Barunga Village Inc,
WA: Margaret Hoare, Braemar Presbyterian Care

Trainee Award
NSW & ACT: Michelle Coolwell, UPA Assoc of NSW
Victoria: Suzanne Beaston, Bupa Care Services
Tasmania: Margaret Byrne, Freemasons Homes of Southern Tasmania Inc
WA: Sue Hummerston, Uniting Church Homes

Volunteer Award
NSW & ACT: Ian Gilbert, IRT
Victoria: Lilian Antonelli, Assisi Centre
Tasmania: Kathleen Medwin, Emmerton Park
SA & NT: Cosmo Camporeale, Associazione Nazionale Famiglie Degli Emigrati Inc (ANFE)
WA: Rita Stemmerik, Waminda, SwanCare Group

Media Award
NSW & ACT: UnitingCare Ageing
Victoria: Benetas
SA & NT: Life Care – Churches of Christ
WA: Uniting Church Homes

Organisation Award
Queensland: D & R Community Services Pty Ltd
NSW & ACT: IRT (Illawarra Retirement Trust)
Victoria: Warramunda Village
Tasmania: Huon Eldercare
SA & NT: Barunga Village Inc
WA: Braemar Presbyterian Care

Industry Supporter Award
Queensland: SSS Australia
NSW & ACT: SmartCare
Victoria: Verso Consulting
SA & NT: Combined Charities Incorporated
WA: EPAC Salary Solutions

Tags: acsa, awards, conference, excellence,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *