ACSA shines a light on aged care’s high achievers

The 2021 ACSA Aged Care State Awards recognise the hard work and achievements of 25 individuals and organisations in the sector.

Warrigal, HammondCare and RSL Care SA clinical nurse Lynn Rogers are among more than a score of organisations and individuals honoured at state awards for their outstanding achievements in the aged care sector.

Aged and Community Services Australia announced 25 state and territory winners over three weeks from 19 October, all of whom are in the running for an ACSA national award.

Winners were selected across five categories including employee of the year, volunteer of the year, aged care provider of the year, regional, rural and remote provider of the year, and innovation in service or design.

In a repeat of 2018 New South Wales and the Australian Capital Territory provider Warrigal was named provider of the year for its outstanding leadership, management, workforce culture, innovation, communication and excellence in the sector.

Mark Sewell

Warrigal CEO Mark Sewell said the organisation was delighted about the win.

“There are over 200 ACSA providers in NSW/ACT and this is our second time, so we feel very honoured to have won,” Mr Sewell told Australian Ageing Agenda.

“It means that the way we do things, we call it the Warrigal Way, is being recognised by our local communities and by our industry leaders, which is very, very encouraging,” he said.

Mr Sewell said the organisation’s team of 2,000 staff have worked tirelessly through the pandemic.

“This award is a testament to the hard work our managers, staff and volunteers put in every day in order to reach our compelling goal of creating inspiring communities where older people live great lives,” he said.

“They deserve this award so much. All frontline aged care staff do.”

COVID visiting program wins best innovation

Warrigal was also named a finalist in the innovation in service or design category for the implementation of its COVID-19 safe visiting areas.

Angela Raguz

However the award went to dementia specialists HammondCare for its Partnering in Care Program, which trains family members to safely visit loved ones in care homes.

The program, which launched in July 2020, has taught 1,800 family members and friends of HammondCare residents to practice COVID-19 safe procedures, infection control, hygiene and general care.

HammondCare chief operating and risk officer Angela Raguz said the program has enabled families to continue to make essential visits during lockdowns.

“We are proud to have developed a way for visits to continue as we know physical and social isolation can have an impact on residents,” Ms Raguz said in a statement.

SA clinical nurse recognised

Lynn Ann Rogers

In South Australia and the Northern Territory, Lynn Ann Rogers, a clinical nurse at RSL Care SA, won employee of the year for dedication and work in wound management, dementia and palliative care.

Ms Rogers’ exemplary holistic care has seen her present at the Wounds Australia National Conference on developing high level wound care knowledge and skills in aged care.

ACSA CEO Paul Sadler congratulated all the winners and said it was important to celebrate the achievements of those who have helped the sector through challenging times.

Paul Sadler

“It’s an absolute delight to acknowledge the exceptional work of these providers, teams and individuals. These winners are just some of the many in the sector that we should look to as shining examples of what aged care has the potential to contribute to our community,” Mr Sadler told AAA.

The ACSA 2021 National Aged Care Awards will be announced on 7 December.

Full list of winners

Employee of the year

  • Therese Best, Queen Victoria Care (Tasmania)
  • Jim Scantsonihas, Fronditha Care (Victoria)
  • Henrietta Podgorska, Umbrella Multicultural Community Care Services Inc (WA)
  • Lynn Ann Rogers, RSL Care SA (SA and NT)
  • La Stacey Baramy, St Basil’s Aged Care NSW/ACT (NSW and ACT)

Volunteer of the year

  • Christine Sward, Christian Homes Tasmania (Tasmania)
  • Judee Stevenson, Mayflower Brighton (Vic)
  • Christine Goodall, ECHO Community Services (WA)
  • Janet Hill, Resthaven Incorporated (SA and NT)
  • Bruce McNamara, Feros Care (NSW and ACT)

Provider of the year

  • Anglicare Southern Queensland (Qld)
  • Masonic Care Tasmania (Tasmania)
  • Martin Luther Homes Boronia Inc (Vic)
  • Umbrella Multicultural Community Care Services Inc (WA)
  • RSL Care SA (SA and NT)
  • Warrigal (NSW and ACT)

Regional, rural and remote of the year

  • Emmerton Park Inc (Tasmania)
  • Yaandina Community Services Ltd (WA)
  • Mt View Homes (SA and NT)
  • Finley Regional Care Ltd (NSW and ACT)

Innovation in service or design

  • Anglicare Southern Queensland (Qld)
  • Donwood Community Aged Care Services Inc (Vic)
  • Kimberley Aged and Community Services (WA)
  • ACH Group (SA and NT)
  • HammondCare (NSW and ACT)

Main image: Warrigal staff

Comment on the story below. Follow Australian Ageing Agenda on FacebookTwitter and LinkedIn, sign up to our twice-weekly newsletter and subscribe to AAA magazine for the complete aged care picture.  

Tags: acsa, hammondcare, mark sewell, paul sadler, warrigal,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *