Minister’s Awards for Excellence 2007

Christopher Pyne announces the winners of the 2007 Minster’s Awards for Excellence in Aged Care

The winners of the 2007 Minister’s Awards for Excellence in Aged Care have been announced by the Minister for Ageing, Christopher Pyne, at a ceremony at Parliament House in Canberra.

The awards recognised 10 ‘exceptional’ individuals and organisations in aged care, selected from over 140 nominations.

Mr Pyne said the combined achievements of the finalists placed Australia at the forefront of dedication and innovation in aged care.

“These Australians are taking the care of our older citizens to the highest level,” he said.

“They deserve our utmost respect and admiration.”

Organisation winners received a $10,000 to be used for an aged care-related purpose and individual winners will share a $10,000 prize with their employers.

The winners are listed below:

Winner: Leadership and Management – Residential
Marisa Mastroianni
UnitingCare Ageing South Eastern Region, NSW & ACT

Winner: Leadership and Management – Community
Ian Hardy
Helping Hand Aged Care Inc, Parafield Gardens, SA

Winner: Professional Development
Tamra Macleod
UnitingCare Mirinjani Village, Weston, ACT

Joint Winners: Aged Care Lifestyle – Residential
Paul Brophy
Sambell Lodge, Clifton Hill, Vic

Barry Chongwee
The Juninga Centre, Nightcliff, NT

Winner: Aged Care Lifestyle – Community
Michael Hillier
Brotherhood of St Laurence, Carrum Downs, Vic

Winner: Training and Staff Development – Residential
Baptist Community Care Ltd, Camberwell, Vic

Winner: Training and Staff Development – Community
ACH Group
Aged Care & Housing Group Inc, Newton, SA

Winner: Information Technology – Residential
Holy Spirit Care Services Ltd
Cairns, Qld

Winner: Information Technology – Community
Silver Chain
Osborne Park, WA

Tags: winners,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *